5 Politicians Who Announced Support for Gay Marriage In Last Week

25 Mar


As the Supreme Court prepares to hear arguments on same-sex marriage, several high-profile politicians have announced “evolutions” on the subject and now support recognition of marriage for same-sex couples.

1. Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.): “I have come to the conclusion that our government should not limit the right to marry based on who you love. My views on this subject have changed over time, but as many of my gay and lesbian friends, colleagues and staff embrace long term committed relationships, I find myself unable to look them in the eye without honestly confronting this uncomfortable inequality. Supporting marriage equality for gay and lesbian couples is simply the right thing to do for our country, a country founded on the principals of liberty and equality.”

2. Sen. Mark Warner (D-Va.): “I support marriage equality because it is the fair and right thing to do. Like many Virginians and Americans, my views on gay marriage have evolved, and this is the inevitable extension of my efforts to promote equality and opportunity for everyone.”

3. Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton (D): “I support marriage for lesbian and gay couples. Like so many others, my views have been shaped over time by people I have known and loved, by my experience representing our nation on the world stage, my devotion to law and human rights, and the guiding principles of my faith.”

4. Sen. Rob Portman (R-Ohio): “I have come to believe that if two people are prepared to make a lifetime commitment to love and care for each other in good times and in bad, the government shouldn’t deny them the opportunity to get married…Like millions of Americans in recent years, I’ve changed my mind on the question of marriage for same-sex couples.”

5. Sen. Mark Begich (D-Alaska): “Gay and lesbian couples should not be denied the ability to pledge their love and commitment through the civil institution of marriage. I believe that two committed adults of the same sex should be able to receive a government-issued marriage license.”

Democratic senators who have not taken a position to date on same-sex marriage include:

Mark Pryor (Ark.), Bob Casey (Pa.), Bill Nelson (Fl.), Jon Tester (Mont.), Tom Carper (Del.), Tim Johnson (S.D.), Joe Manchin (W.Va.), Kay Hagan (N.C.), Mary Landrieu (La.), Heidi Heitkamp (N.D.), and Joe Donnelly (Ind.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: